Resistance Is In Our Blood

Abolition for the People

We’re All Living in a Future Created by Slavery

For centuries, we’ve had our freedoms ripped from us. But like our ancestors, we resist.

Ameer Hasan Loggins, Ph.D
LEVEL
Published in
9 min readOct 16, 2020

--

This article is part of Abolition for the People, a series brought to you by a partnership between Kaepernick Publishing and LEVEL, a Medium publication for and about the lives of Black and Brown men. The series, composed of 30 essays and conversations over four weeks, points to the crucial conclusion that policing and prisons are not solutions for the issues and people the state deems social problems — and calls for a future that puts justice and the needs of the community first.

When I was 19 years old, I was arrested.

Instead of a dungeon, I was held in an overcrowded holding cell. Instead of being shackled and transported across the ocean on a floating prison, I was handcuffed, sitting shoulder to shoulder with another young Black male being hauled across the county on a prison bus.

During intake, I was stripped of my clothes, forced to stand naked as officers stripped me of both my pride and my dignity. I tried to cover my genitals. It was my last grasp at holding onto my humanity. I was commanded by officers to remove my hands. They had guns. I had nothing. I complied…

--

--

Ameer Hasan Loggins, Ph.D
LEVEL
Writer for

I write what I feel needs to be written. That you’re reading my work is a bonus.