Dear Level

Valentine’s Day Isn’t a Good Time to Experiment With Your Sex Routine

Don’t ruin a perfectly good holiday by doing too much in the bedroom

Elisabeth Ovesen | NYT Bestselling Author
LEVEL
Published in
4 min readFeb 12, 2021

--

Images: zoljo, Jupiterimages, Anastasiia Burlakova, malerapaso/Getty Images

Update 6/7/22: Level has a new home. You can read this article and other new articles by visiting LEVELMAN.com.

How do I love Valentine’s Day? Let me count the ways. I love the romance, the sex, the chocolate. On this inherently romantic holiday, my partner and I go the extra mile to show not only how much we love each other, but how turned on we are by one another.

Every year on February 14, I insist on bouquets of red roses and star lilies, bottles of champagne, chocolate-covered strawberries, and decadent dark chocolate truffles with sweet and surprising centers (cherries and cream are the best!). I’ll usually play a sexy soundtrack, light some candles, and put on a French lace teddy, silk stockings, and a satin garter. Self-heating massage oils and quality lube are musts.

All in all, it’s a Valentine’s Day starter kit — all the classics, but little adventure or audacity. It’s not that I don’t appreciate adventure or audacity; it’s just that the most romantic day of the year isn’t the time to start doing things we usually don’t.

Some of us need to work the…

--

--

Elisabeth Ovesen | NYT Bestselling Author
LEVEL
Writer for

3x New York Times bestselling author, art enthusiast, and design girlie living between Los Angeles and New York City