The Only Black Guy in the Office

The Mental Gymnastics of a Virtual Job Interview Are Hard to Land

You may not be in person, but you’ve still gotta come correct

The Only Black Guy In the Office
LEVEL
Published in
4 min readFeb 8, 2021

--

Illustration by Michael Kennedy for LEVEL

Update 6/7/22: Level has a new home. You can read this article and other new articles by visiting LEVELMAN.com.

For the first time in a long time, I’m happy with my current job. I have support from my higher-ups, a good deal of responsibility, and room for improvement, word to Drake. Still, at least once every year, I browse the job opportunities on LinkedIn to see what else is out there. I’ve done so ever since a friend who works in HR suggested making an effort to interview elsewhere annually — especially while I’m employed. For whatever reason, she said, many companies find poaching a prospect preferable to hiring someone who is unemployed. (It’s human nature, I guess, to want what someone else has. And you’ve got a built-in cosign.) Plus, even if you’re not considering a move, interviewing elsewhere is a great way to gauge your market value and how your industry is trending.

With this in mind, I’ve used February, the Blackest month on the calendar, as a chance to do some annual recalibration. Some years, I’ve been extended offers, which I’ve used to negotiate a better compensation package at the…

--

--

The Only Black Guy In the Office
LEVEL
Writer for

Do you know him? Is it you? The trials and tribulations of a Black man navigating corporate life.