The Death of New York City Is Clickbait

Anyone who said NY was dead after Covid-19 arrived wasn’t a New Yorker to begin with

Jada Gomez
LEVEL

--

A pride colored heart is seen on a subway car near a person wearing a mask as the city moves into Phase 2 of re-opening following restrictions imposed to curb the coronavirus pandemic on June 25, 2020 in New York City.
Photo: Alexi Rosenfeld/Getty Images

Update 6/7/22: Level has a new home. You can read this article and other new articles by visiting LEVELMAN.com.

There’s one way to put even the mellowest New Yorker into a fit of rage: insinuating, in any way, that New York City is dead.

Last March, grief overtook the city I’ve lived in my entire life. Although the events of 9/11 caused me PTSD due to the trauma of almost losing my dad twice in the Twin Towers (first in the 1993 bombing, and then in 2001), the uncertainty we experienced for months in New York City was a new danger that no one in our lifetime had lived through. And as the nation surpasses 500,000 lives lost to Covid-19, the death toll feels like experiencing 9/11 every single day a count comes in. The magnitude is devastating.

During the height of the city’s Covid-19 cases, I clung to New York Governor Cuomo’s updates, knowing that an “apex” loomed that would take 16,000 lives before it was done in April. Like many New Yorkers, my family lives in the city. For the first time in my life, I couldn’t hop on the subway to make sure my mother was okay. And she felt the same; she could hear my wheezing over the phone and knew that I was struggling with…

--

--

Jada Gomez
LEVEL

Senior Platform Editor at Medium. Girl with the long last name from the Empire State. NYU Alum. Runner. Puppy Mommy. Smiler.