Maybe Lives Do Need to Be Torn Apart

Before our nation erupted, Christian Cooper extended graciousness to the woman who had threatened him. The time for graciousness is done.

Michael Arceneaux
LEVEL

--

Christian Cooper appearing on The View. Photo: ABC News/Getty Images

Update 6/7/22: Level has a new home. You can read this article and other new articles by visiting LEVELMAN.com.

As beautiful and powerful as forgiveness can be, I happen to believe that in some circumstances, “fuck you forever” can be just as virtuous. And in the case of a White woman knowingly calling the police to falsely accuse a Black man of threatening her life, completely aware of the potential consequences, then yes, fuck Amy Cooper forever.

Unfortunately, Christian Cooper feels differently. “Any of us can make — not necessarily a racist mistake, but a mistake,” he told The New York Times last week of the incident, which plausibly could have led to his untimely death. “And to get that kind of tidal wave in such a compressed period of time, it’s got to hurt. It’s got to hurt.”

“I’m not excusing the racism,” he continued, before he did exactly that: “But I don’t know if her life needed to be torn apart.”

Let me acknowledge that I am not Christian Cooper. I was not in his situation. Christian Cooper has every right to react to a situation involving…

--

--

Michael Arceneaux
LEVEL

New York Times bestselling author of “I Can’t Date Jesus” and “I Don’t Want To Die Poor.”