Matt Gaetz Wants to Be the Next (Alleged) Predator President

And as Republicans sink even lower, we have to take him seriously

Michael Arceneaux
LEVEL

--

Photo: Getty Images

In the coming years, Representative Matt Gaetz is likely to be the inspiration for another Lifetime docuseries themed around sexual predators (or at least have a Law & Order: SVU episode based on his current scandal). But that apparently has not deterred his political ambitions at all. Not only has the Florida congressman not resigned from his job while in the midst of allegations of sex trafficking a minor, Gaetz believes he can make it all the way to the White House. When I say mighty, you say white.

I hate that I even have to mildly take this sad man’s dream seriously.

Of course, a Gaetz run in 2024 is possible only if the previous president, also potentially facing federal indictment, isn’t planning to make our lives miserable with another presidential bid.

“I support Donald Trump for president,” Gaetz texted the New York Post last week. “I’ve directly encouraged him to run and he gives me every indication he will. If Trump doesn’t run, I’m sure I could defeat whatever remains of Joe Biden by 2024.”

I’d like to think this country wouldn’t be goofy enough to elect another accused…

--

--

Michael Arceneaux
LEVEL

New York Times bestselling author of “I Can’t Date Jesus” and “I Don’t Want To Die Poor.”