LEVEL Men, We Need to Talk for a Minute

Don’t let this impeachment talk throw you. We have work to do. And I need your help.

Aliya S. King
LEVEL

--

Photo: adamkaz/Getty Images

Dear Fellas:

Can I ask a favor?

I don’t want to nag. I don’t want to swivel my neck. I don’t want to throw out stats and yell. I just want to chat.

On the morning of November 9, 2016, I woke up and walked over to my front door to get the newspaper. The night before, I fell asleep not knowing who had won the presidential election. For months, we all knew it would be Hilary Clinton, full stop. We were expecting to go from one historic election to another. But overnight, it was a gut-wrenching switch-up from what many of us thought it would be. I opened the door, looked at the newspaper headline and signed heavily. I’ve been sighing heavily ever since.

So, how did it happen? How on earth did this man become president? Over the last three years, we’ve all yelled out into the void. Fifty-three percent of all White women voted for him! His base was electrified because of the economy! This is punishment for a Black president.

Yes. All of that.

But I need to talk about you. About us.

In 2016, Black folks had the highest decline in voter turnout ever. Nearly 1 million…

--

--

Aliya S. King
LEVEL

Aliya S. King is an author, freelance writer and editor.