I’m a Mail Carrier, and Trump Is Definitely Trying to Affect the Election

My hands are tied, but I’m doing my part to try to stop him

LEVEL Editors
LEVEL

--

Photo: Spencer Platt/Getty Images

LEVEL spoke with a mail carrier who works in a major metropolitan area in the Northeast; in order to preserve their anonymity, we’ve omitted any identifying information about them.

I’m worried. I’m really worried. Many letter carriers already go above and beyond to do our jobs just on a regular basis. What’s going on right now? It’s ridiculous.

First of all, we know what Trump (and the postmaster he appointed) are trying to do. We’re not allowed to talk about it at work. But we all know. He’s trying to mess with the collection of absentee ballots. Period.

People saw the removal of mailboxes. And then the USPS said, “Oh, we always do this.” Yes, mailboxes are removed if it takes a carrier time to get there and there’s very little mail inside. But it takes a very long time to make that decision. There’s a process. And even when they do decide to move boxes, they don’t move 15 boxes at once. Except that’s what was happening.

I know we have to remain neutral. But I’ve been a letter carrier for almost 20 years, and I’ve never seen anything like this. We…

--

--