How a Black Texan Watched His State Show Its White Ass

Nothing owns the libs like cleaning ourselves with baby wipes and boiling cooking water!

Michael Arceneaux
LEVEL

--

Photo: Kena Betancur/Getty Images

Update 6/7/22: Level has a new home. You can read this article and other new articles by visiting LEVELMAN.com.

Like millions of others in the state of Texas after a winter storm decimated our electrical grid, I spent much of last week shivering in the cold darkness. And just around the time I was beginning to lose the feeling in my toes, Ted Cruz was at Bush International Airport in Houston waiting to board his flight to Cancún.

I learned this only when I finally turned my phone back on to let my family and friends know that I hadn’t died of hypothermia. My battery may have been hemorrhaging power at the worst possible time, but at least I learned that Cruz’s shallowness and stupidity had gotten the best of him. First he blamed the trip on wanting to be a good dad; then he claimed that his plan was always to return the next day. But as funny as it was to find out that it was Cruz family “friends” who helped exposed his lie, it’s harder to laugh off that Cruz had to be shamed to fly back home and pretend to give a fuck about the needs of his constituents in a time of crisis.

--

--

Michael Arceneaux
LEVEL

New York Times bestselling author of “I Can’t Date Jesus” and “I Don’t Want To Die Poor.”