Christmas…lol.

Carvell Wallace
LEVEL
Published in
6 min readDec 22, 2021

--

We approach the time of year when we have all been tricked into linking together the buying of things with the genuine expression of love and there seems to be no way out of it. I (barely) survived a giant family fight with one of my teenagers this week — set in motion by me announcing that due to various logistical factors like global pandemic and a vast unnameable existential fatigue, her mother and I have decided not to do a huge many-gifts-per-child Christmas this year. We would instead spend the day together making food, watching movies, playing video games as a family, drinking eggnog, enjoying each other’s company. Gifts would be limited to cash with which they could do what they please.

My daughter heard this only as “we’re not doing gifts” and did not take kindly. I, of course, did not take kindly to her not taking kindly. She felt that we were depriving her of a “real Christmas experience” now that her older brother had graduated, which to her felt like a personal diss. I, a Black father, felt that the “real Christmas experience” was that she had a roof over her damn head and food to eat and a healthy (relatively) sane family that loved her and supported her.

I’m angry that our daughter is not grasping the TRUE MEANING OF CHRISTMAS!!!” I yelled jokingly to her mother during one of the regular phone calls during which we process the unmitigated horror of having teenaged people in…

--

--

Carvell Wallace
LEVEL
Writer for

This is where I experiment. This is where I learn to write.