THE ONLY BLACK GUY IN THE OFFICE

In 2020, My Zoom Backgrounds Say Everything I’m Thinking

Virtual surroundings can communicate a lot without speaking a word.

The Only Black Guy In the Office
LEVEL
Published in
5 min readSep 21, 2020

--

Illustration: Michael Kennedy

Update 6/7/22: Level has a new home. You can read this article and other new articles by visiting LEVELMAN.com.

After months of working from home, I’ve finally settled into a solid morning routine: Roll out of bed, do a quick email sweep to make sure no code-red crises arose at work while I was asleep, knock out the morning hygiene essentials, pour a big-ass bowl of cereal like Craig in Friday, and, if timing allows, take a quick 15 to meditate before logging on to work. But one morning earlier this year, I received a company-wide memo from senior leadership that threw off my whole a.m. regimen.

The note outlined new guidelines for Zoom video calls — which, like in so many other offices, have become our primary means of communication and collaboration with coworkers. Cameras on are not mandatory but strongly preferred for all meetings, it read.

My first reaction: Oh, hell nah. Is this a workplace or a third-grade classroom? The Slack group chat with the homies quickly got to buzzing. Just as I was about to join in on the choir of complaints about the new policy, though, I noticed an…

--

--

The Only Black Guy In the Office
LEVEL
Writer for

Do you know him? Is it you? The trials and tribulations of a Black man navigating corporate life.